The Year of Travel 2016

This year I have done so many things. I was talking to a very special person a little while ago. They made me realize that I’m very lucky to have this opportunity  of traveling. But when I travel, I have to sit down and think ‘Am I really here?’. Or is this just a crazy dream? When I arrived in Bangkok yesterday, I was riding the BTS and I felt like I hadn’t spent two years of my life here. It felt like I have only been here for a month. Time flies by so fast when you are traveling. Why does time fly by so fast when you are traveling? Well, you are having fun and being with the people you love doing the best thing in the whole world. I was searching the word ‘travel’ on Google and here’s what I found:

trav·el

ˈtravəl/

verb

1.

make a journey, typically of some length or abroad.

“the vessel had been traveling from Libya to Ireland”

While I was exploring the word ‘travel’ and seeing if this word made any connections to my experience of ‘traveling’. I stumbled across this quote that made me rethink the idea of ‘travel’.

What does this quote mean to you, Zoe? Well, I’ve learned over the years from my quote-loving friends and even teachers that each person has their own interpretations of quotes. No one’s quote interpretations are the same. This is my interpretation of the quote:

All the people you see– All the cultures you experience– All the food you eat– All the languages you learn while you travel are invaluable

Also, all the things you see, smell, learn, touch, and experience stay with you forever. These fill you with lots of stories. I realized this when I was talking to a very special person. I realized that I was talking and talking about my experiences. What I believe is that I have grown, I have learned without a teacher. Traveling is an invaluable lesson, something that cannot be taught, something that you have to experience on your own, by yourself. No one, not a teacher, not even me, can give you the real traveling experience. Learning about different cultures, no one can teach you that. You have to go to that place and experience their culture yourself.

As I stop and process what I have written, I’m amazed at what I just said. Is this really me talking? I believe that traveling has taught me all this. I’m not sure that my English teacher could’ve taught me about traveling. I think traveling taught me about traveling.

This quote is so very true, this is why I have my blog. I want to share my experiences with others and while I do that my readers can get a virtual sense of different places.

Please leave a comment about what the word ‘traveling’ and the quote I just shared with you mean to you. I will give you a shout out on my blog.

Just giving you something to reflect and think about…
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2017/01/01/year/

2 thoughts on “The Year of Travel 2016

  1. donethkm says:

    You are such a gifted writer! I am such a proud Aunt! I look forward to reading your blog and traveling to these places with you through your writing. Miss you tons!
    Love ya!

    Like

  2. Felice & Roman Berezinski says:

    Your write-up on The Year of Travel 2016 was marvelous and so inspirational to read! For sure, your career will be as a travel journalist 🙂 Love you !!!
    Grandma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

